Thursday October 27, 2016
SHEFFIELD's brave play-off run came to an end in the Grand Final as they suffered a 100-80 aggregate defeat to Somerset.

Following a narrow two point loss in the first leg at Owlerton on Wednesday, the Window Centre Tigers were eventually well beaten 54-36 at The Oaktree Arena.

The first half of the second leg in particular saw Sheffield put up a valiant fight and certainly made the Rebels work for their points.

An early 4-2 from guest Ricky Wells and Arthur Sissis pulled the tie level before the Rebels edged away. Sissis was involved in another 4-2 in heat eight, this time with Kyle Howarth as the Tigers clawed it back to within two on aggregate.

However, two 4-2s in favour of the Rebels and a 5-1 followed and it looked like a monumental task with just four races remaining.

The Tigers needed a heat advantage in the 13th to keep the tie alive, but a 5-1 from Rohan Tungate and Josh Grajczonek ended any hope.

Promoter Damien Bates said: "Nobody likes losing but fair play to Somerset, they've been the best team in the league this year and they deserve it.

"We gave it a decent fight but we always knew it was going to be tough after slipping to a defeat at home.

"But with everything that's gone on, we've done so well just to get to this stage and there's plenty to look forward to for 2017!"

Guest duo Ricky Wells and Stuart Robson both showed plenty of speed as they secured four of Sheffield's five race wins between them.

Kyle Howarth had another solid night as stand-in skipper while Arthur Sissis worked overtime for his five points.

Josh Bates had one of his tougher nights of the season while it was a disappointing end to the campaign for young reserve Nathan Greaves.

SOMERSET 54: Rohan Tungate 12, Josh Grajczonek 11+1, Paul Starke 10+1, Charles Wright 8+1, Rob Branford 6+1, Jake Allen 5+1, James Shanes 2

SHEFFIELD 36: Ricky Wells 11, Kyle Howarth 9, Stuart Robson 8, Arthur Sissis 5, Josh Bates 3+1, Nathan Greaves 0, Dimitri Berge r/r

Somerset win 100-80 on aggregate and are the 2016 Premier League Champions

Share This:   Facebook Twitter