Sunday September 06, 2015
SHEFFIELD star Jason Garrity missed out in his bid to deliver a second successive home winner of the Premier League Riders' Championship.

Tasked with following in the footsteps of Simon Stead's unforgettable victory last year, Garrity put in a determined showing but fell just short in his bid to earn the biggest win of his career so far.

The Tigers favourite was in the thick of the action throughout, storming to an impressive win in heat 10, but his eight point haul from the qualifying heats left him agonisingly short of a spot in the race-off.

It was a disappointing night for Garrity as his determined efforts did not quite prove enough against a strong field - but Sheffield co-promoter Damien Bates believes the popular 21 year old can be proud of his efforts.

Bates said: "Personally I think Jason had a lot of pressure on him being a home rider, and I'm not sure if that got to him a little in some of his rides.

"He can still be proud of the way he rode, he gave it his all as he always does and he was right in the mix. It was a top class field full of great riders, so even though he didn't quite make the race-off he still rode really well.

"He's still only young and he's got many more years ahead of him. I'm sure he'll have learnt from the experience and hopefully he can do even better next year."

Peterborough star Ulrich Ostergaard stormed to victory in the showpiece event ahead of former Sheffield man Ricky Wells and Edinburgh ace Craig Cook.

SCORES: Craig Cook 12, Ulrich Ostergaard 12, Edward Kennett 11, Josh Grajczonek 10, Jonas B Andersen 9, Ricky Wells 9, Sam Masters 8, Brady Kurtz 8, Jason Garrity 8, Nick Morris 7, Steve Worrall 6, Rohan Tungate 5, Richard Lawson 4, Alex Davies 4, Kyle Newman 4, Thomas Jorgensen 3, Layne Cupitt (res) 0, Rob Shuttleworth (res) 0.

RACE-OFF: Grajczonek, Wells, Andersen, Kennett (exc 2 min).

FINAL: Ostergaard, Wells, Cook, Grajczonek.


Share This:   Facebook Twitter