History of the Sheffield Tiger Speedway Team

History of the Sheffield Tiger Speedway Team

You lovers of motorbike racing must have known many famous motorcycle teams. Many racing events are often held for a show or award. Speedway has indeed become one of the shows favored by many people.

If you know a lot about Speedway, do you know about the Sheffield Tiger team? This team is a legendary team in the world of Speedway. If you don’t know and feel unfamiliar with its name, here is an explanation of the Sheffield Tiger motorcycle team.

History of the Sheffield Tiger Speedway Team

Sheffield Tigers is a Speedway team from England. This team has participated in many races. Even at the SGB Premiership, England was a match that made him known in the racing world.

This team has been around a long time, not new. Sheffield Tigers have been around since 1929, managed by Simon Stead and the captain is Kyle Howarth.

Not a wild race team, this Speedway team has become an official race team that has many members in it. And the members of this Speedway have received many awards in various racing sports.

A little familiar with the history of this team, the team first made a match at Owllerton Stadium. Owlerton was a special Speedway pass in 1929 when the team began to be formed. Although the track was closed, the Tiger team was increasingly recognized in 1950 as the highest scorer of 4246 points.

These points are obtained from the appearance of Reg Wilson who has nearly 500 times and the former captain Ricky Ashworth appeared in the race.

Following are the events the Sheffield Tigers team has participated in:

– British Speedway in 1947

– Provincial Northern League (3 consecutive years 1962-1964)

– British League KO Cup Winner in 1974

– Northern Trophy 1974

– Premier league champion

– SGB Championship

The last one to become a team racing event was the SGB Championship in 2017.